What Does ‘Hidden From Quick Add’ Mean On Snapchat?

If you head to your Snapchat profile and tap ‘Add friends’, then tap the three dots in the top right corner you will see a menu with three options on it:

  • Hidden from quick add
  • Ignored from added me
  • Recently added

If you tap ‘hidden from quick add’ you see a list of different users that you have hidden from the quick add list by pressing the ‘x’ next to their name in your Add Friends list.

Hidden from quick add means exactly what it says…they are people that you have hidden from your quick add list!

How Do You Remove People From The Hidden From Quick Add List?

There doesn’t seem to be any obvious way to remove people from the ‘Hidden From Quick Add’ list.

However, users on Reddit suggested the following two methods, both of which I tested (and they worked!):

1. Block Them And Then Unblock Them

  1. Click on their profile and then in the top right press the three dots and select ‘Block’.
  2. Then head to your own profile and tap the setting cog in the top right, scroll down to ‘Blocked’ (near the bottom under the account actions heading).
  3. Tap to unblock them here.

Once you have done this you will no longer be able to see them in the ‘Hidden From Quick Add’ menu.

2. Add Them As A Friend And Then Unfriend Them

This method can be problematic as they may receive a notification that you have added them but if you’re not concerned about that then here’s how you do it:

  1. Tap the ‘add’ button next to their name.
  2. Then immediately click their name to head to their profile.
  3. Tap the three dots in the top right corner.
  4. Select ‘Manage Friendship’.
  5. Then tap ‘Remove Friend’.

Once you have done this you will no longer be able to see them in the ‘Hidden From Quick Add’ menu.

Be aware that both of these methods do not restore them to the ‘Add friends’ list.

I tested both methods, I even cleared the Snapchat cache and closed and restarted the app and they were still nowhere to be found in either the ‘Hidden From Quick Add’ list or the ‘Add Friends’ list.

What Is Snapchat’s Quick Add?

Quick Add is a list of people that Snapchat believes you may know or may be interested in following.

The list is compiled of people who:

  • Are in your phone’s contact list.
  • Share mutual Snapchat friends with you.
  • Have shared interests.
  • Are active in your local area.
  • People that your friends send lots of snaps to.

In theory Quick Add should feature a broad mix of people who you may know or who have similar interests to you, though it doesn’t always work perfectly, for example some users report that they only ever get guys suggested in Quick Add.

While others complain it causes them to end up with loads of random people adding them on Snapchat..

..if this is the case it can easily be turned off in your settings, just look for the ‘See me in quick add’ settings underneath the ‘Privacy Control’ heading.